Walnut drop cookies

January 25, 2013 § 6 Comments

walnut drop cookies

Did you start the year off with good intentions? Some resolutions that this year would be different than previous ones? I, shockingly, only made one baking/cooking/food-related resolution (the list for my crafting, however, is out of control), and that is to keep inventing new recipes.

So far the smugness has been kept in check though; while I am one for one on new recipes posted as of today, last year’s resolution to stop acquiring cookbooks was a total nonstarter, and this year I’ve already received….um…seven new cookbooks. Granted, one was the Smitten Kitchen cookbook I bought for my sister for Christmas, except it turns out SHE GOT TO MEET DEB and get a copy signed, so I got the one I gave her back. No good deed goes unpunished, but then again, it is a great cookbook so I’m not exactly complaining!

walnut cookie ingredients

dry and wet ingredients

Anyway, in a few weeks I am going to visit my sister and brother-in-law (where I promise I will not “borrow” my sister’s copy — besides it is probably signed to her anyway, grumble) and I always like to bring something to thank them for their hospitality.

My brother-in-law really loves desserts with nuts in them, so I wanted to create something that really showcases walnuts, since I think those are his favorite, judging by the rugelach he likes (with walnuts), brownies (also with walnuts), and baklava (again, with walnuts, though there are pistachios in there too).

walnut cookie dough

walnut cookie dough on trays

Normally I’m more on the crunchy/crisp side of the cookie equation (exception: oatmeal cookies are acceptable in any form), but in this case I prefer the softer crumb of these drop cookies since they really make the walnut pieces a noticeable, textural part of the cookie. The flavor is deeply nutty of course, and the dough is just on this side of sweet. Rounding everything out is a tiny hint of nutmeg and vanilla.

Since the trip is a few weeks away still, I am planning on tweaking the recipe to try out different nut-and-spice combinations. I think first up will be pistachio and cardamom, but I’d love to hear if you try any combinations out too.

walnut cookies

Walnut drop cookies

Makes about two dozen cookies

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cups (two and 3/5 ounces or 75 grams) walnuts, finely chopped
  • One cup minus a teaspoon (scant one cup or four and 1/2 cups or 125 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup (57.5 grams) powdered/confectioners’/icing sugar
  • 1/3 cup (5 and 1/2 tablespoons or 75 grams) unsalted butter, softened
  • One large egg
  • One tablespoon vanilla

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit (180 degrees Celsius). Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Combine the walnuts, flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg in a bowl; set aside.

3. In a separate bowl, mix together the sugar and butter until clumps form. Mix in the egg until a soft creamy batter forms. Stir in the dry ingredients mixture (from step 2) just until a shaggy dough forms.

4. Drop rounded tablespoons of batter spaced about one to two inches apart on the lined cookie sheets.

5. Bake the cookies for thirteen to sixteen minutes, rotating and switching the trays halfway though baking, or until the cookies are golden on the edges and peaks.

6. Let cool and enjoy right away, or store in an airtight container for up to four days.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Walnut drop cookies

  • Those look nice, indulgent without being too heavy. Now I want cookies.

    • kristina says:

      They’re just right for an afternoon snack – I am enjoying one now! Might need to bake another batch soon, since they’re disappearing quickly.

      Hope you enjoy baking them too!

  • Eileen says:

    Stop acquiring cookbooks?? NOOOO! Okay, actually I should probably try to do this too, since the last time I counted I had 66. :) These cookies look great, and are making me hungry! Good thing I have a cake in the oven as we speak. :)

    • kristina says:

      Cake sounds really good right now, we’re out of walnut cookies!

      Every time I get a new one I think, I have enough cookbooks now, surely? Sigh. Then, going through the shelves, I said I’d get rid of any book I hadn’t read cover-to-cover in the last year and/or made something from it, again within the last year.

      Only two books didn’t meet that requirement! Well, at least I know I use the things, right? :)

  • OliePants says:

    I love walnuts in cookies. These look fantastic. This cookie sounds fantastic – the slightly sweet part is something I love in a light cookie like this.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Walnut drop cookies at md kitchen.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

