Deconstructed piña colada/roasted pineapple with coconut, mint, and rum, with ice cream

May 21, 2010 § 2 Comments

First, I would like to thank everyone who has stopped by or is stopping by after following the link on “Freshly Pressed” here to my blog. I am so thrilled about all the visitors and the kind comments. I will definitely be checking out everyone’s blogs/links over the next few days, as I love to read even more than I like to cook. And of course, thank you so much to wordpress for featuring my post!

To show my appreciation for everyone, I’d like to make you all a drink. No matter that I thought the only cocktail I knew how to make is a Sidecar and I don’t have the ingredients…how about some dessert then? I just made roasted pineapple with coconut, mint, and rum, served with ice cream. Wait, those are really similar ingredients to a piña colada? (Thanks, wikipedia!)

Voilà, the newly revised title, deconstructed piña colada. However, dancing in the rain is dependent upon your local weather forecast.

Pineapple is one of my favorite fruits, not only because it’s unbelievably tasty, but also because I won the sixth-grade science fair with my groundbreaking experiment on the enzyme bromelain’s effect on gelatin’s ability to set. That’s why you see that tiny print on the box of gelatin saying that you need to pre-cook pineapple before putting it into gelatin. (I should probably clarify that the text was there before my experiment and probably before my birth as well…) Anyways, heat deactivates this enzyme, though sadly I can’t remember the exact temperature required as discovered in my experiment, since the posterboard is back at home in Maryland. It can also be used to tenderize meat and fish too, so keep that in mind if it’s an ingredient in a marinade. Anyways, enough science, let’s eat!

First, either procure a whole pineapple or buy one of the pre-cored fresh ones you can usually find in the fruit section of the grocery store. I don’t recommend canned pineapple for this dessert, it’s too mushy after roasting. Also, preheat the oven to four hundred degrees Fahrenheit.

Slice your pineapple horizontally into rings about a half-inch thick. It doesn’t need to be too precise. I got about seven rings out of my pineapple, but if you are more consistent about slice thickness I think you can probably squeeze out eight slices.

Then, arrange on a rimmed baking sheet, sprinkle with a small pinch of salt, and roast in the oven for fifteen minutes.

Meanwhile, pour any accumulated pineapple juice into a bowl.

Pour in about 1/3 cup of rum. I used Bacardi because I got free rum glasses attached to the last two bottles, but feel free to use any good quality you have, light or dark, since as far as I know they all seem pretty decent. Basically, use what you would drink is the standard for alcohol in cooking.

Pour into a bowl, and set aside.

Once the fifteen minutes are over, remove the pineapple slices from the oven.

Sprinkle with about a cup or so of shredded, sweetened coconut (some companies label it “sweetened fancy flaked coconut,” which makes me think of Jessica Simpson’s perfume line). If you really like coconut feel free to add more, as the amount in this picture is a bit lower than I wanted – I ended up sprinkling more coconut over each serving afterward.

Bake an additional five minutes, or until the coconut is lightly toasted. Keep an eye on it, though, as coconut is notoriously fond of burning right when the phone rings or the mail carrier knocks on the door! Top a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream with a slice of pineapple and some coconut, pour over a bit of the rum, and garnish with some fresh mint leaves. If you’re feeling like showing off your mad knife skillz, a mint chiffonade would be gorgeous here.

Eat quickly before all the ice cream melts, and enjoy!

Deconstructed piña colada/roasted pineapple with coconut, mint, and rum, with ice cream

Serves six to eight depending on pineapple size

Ingredients

  • One cored fresh pineapple, sliced horizontally into 6-8 1/2 inch thick rings, accumulated juice reserved (approximately 1/4 cup)
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup of good-quality rum (I used Bacardi)
  • Approximately one cup of shredded, sweetened coconut (sometimes labeled “sweetened fancy flaked coconut”)
  • 1/2 cup of mint leaves
  • Two pints of vanilla ice cream (see note)

1. Preheat oven to four hundred degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Slice pineapple into rings, sprinkle with salt, and bake on a rimmed baking sheet for fifteen minutes.

3. Meanwhile, mix together reserved accumulated pineapple juice and rum. Set aside.

4. Remove pineapple from oven, sprinkle with coconut, and bake for an additional five minutes, or until coconut is toasted.

5. Top ice cream with pineapple, pour reserved rum and pineapple juice over top, and garnish with mint leaves.

Note: For vegans, my favorite brand of vanilla ice cream is Purely Decadent made with Coconut Milk Brand Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert in Vanilla Bean (wow, that’s a mouthful). It’s also the non-dairy dessert starring in these photos. It’s also soy-free for those with soy allergies. For non-vegans, my favorite vanilla ice cream is Ben and Jerry’s.

(By the way, none of the companies mentioned in this post have ever heard of me.)

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Deconstructed piña colada/roasted pineapple with coconut, mint, and rum, with ice cream

What’s this?

You are currently reading Deconstructed piña colada/roasted pineapple with coconut, mint, and rum, with ice cream at md kitchen.

meta

