Maple-honey granola

November 12, 2010 § 9 Comments

I’ve always been a big fan of breakfast foods, and while so far I’ve stuck to posts about hot breakfast foods, I also really like cold breakfast foods, like cereals, pastries, and granola. So, since I recently decided to invest in a kitchen scale, which I promptly used to measure yarn*, I figured it was high time to actually measure something edible using the scale. I found a granola recipe, weighed out the oats, and then in typical form promptly ignored the rest of the ingredient list and instructions for my version, meaning I didn’t really use the scale anymore since I used measuring scoops.

This granola is the best I’ve ever had, but it makes sense because I used all my favorite ingredients, in particular cranberries and maple syrup. So basically, if you don’t like what I’ve picked, just swap out the nuts for ones you do like, or change out the dried fruits for ones you enjoy. That way you’re guaranteed a granola you like**.

*Measuring yarn doesn’t sound so weird if you know the overall weight and yardage of a skein, and then can measure the project you’ve made, and then subtracting the latter number from the first. I promise I’m not baking with it.

**Don’t ask how long it took me to realize that granola can be made at home and doesn’t just come from the food co-op’s dispenser gadgets…! I guess it’s slightly less embarrassing when I think about how no one I know besides me has ever made granola, but then again I may be alone in my granola adoration too.

First, you will need 300 grams of rolled quick oats (or 3 and 1/4 cups).

Then, add in 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/2 cup almonds.

I like pumpkin seeds, so I added in about 1/2 cup of those too.

Then, pour in 1/4 cup neutral-tasting vegetable oil.

Pour in one teaspoon vanilla extract, a pinch or so of sea salt, and about 1/3 cup of honey along with four tablespoons Grade A maple syrup. For a stronger maple-y taste, you could use Grade B. For more sweetness, increase honey to 1/2 cup.

Mix it all up.

Then, spread it all out onto a cookie sheet or two, and bake in a preheated 300 degree Fahrenheit oven for about fifteen to seventeen minutes.

Meanwhile, mix together your dried fruits. I chose golden raisins, cranberries, and sour cherries, about 3/4 cups each, or 2 and 1/4 cups total if you’re the mix and match type.

Remove the granola from the oven, gently stir everything around, mix in the dried fruit, and bake again for another ten to twelve minutes, or until everything is nice and toasty and smells fragrant.

Let cool before serving or storing.

I like my granola plain with milk for breakfast, but for a granola brunch parfait try layering the granola with Greek or regular yogurt, some extra honey drizzled over the top, and some fresh fruit or berries. Enjoy!

Maple-honey granola

Massively interpreted so as to be almost completely unidentifiable from the original recipe in Jamie

Makes approximately one pound, twelve ounces, or about six to ten servings

Ingredients

  • 300 grams (3 and 1/4 cups) rolled quick oats
  • One and a half cups mixed nuts and/or seeds (1/2 cup walnuts, 1/2 cup almonds, and 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds)
  • one teaspoon vanilla extract
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • 1/3 cup of honey (1/2 cup if you prefer it sweeter)
  • four tablespoons Grade A maple syrup (Grade B for more maple flavor)
  • Two and 1/4 cups mixed dried fruit (3/4 cups dried sour cherries, 3/4 cups dried cranberries, 3/4 cups golden raisins)

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Mix together oats, nuts and/or seeds, vanilla extract, sea salt, honey, and maple syrup. Stir thoroughly.

3. Then, spread out granola onto a cookie sheet or two, and bake for fifteen to seventeen minutes.

4. Meanwhile, mix together dried fruits, and set aside.

5. Once the initial baking time is complete, remove the granola from the oven, gently stir everything around, mix in the dried fruit, and bake again for another ten to twelve minutes, or until golden and fragrant.

6. Let granola cool completely before storing in an airtight container. You can serve it warm though, if you like, or wait until it’s cooled.

Note: The rolled quick oats I used are organic and are gluten-free, but please be sure to read the label of the brand you select, because I have read that certain brands of oats may have wheat germ added during processing.

Bibliography

Gould, Kevin. “Honey Cherry Granola” from “For the Love of Honey.” Jamie. Jamie. June 2010: 94, 96. Print.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Maple-honey granola

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maple-honey granola at md kitchen.

meta

