Two pigs in blankets

December 7, 2010 § 7 Comments

I may be alone in this, but I love food that reminds me of past happy holidays, and bonus points if it’s rather kitschy; I am equally pleased to ignore any dictum that declares a scrumptious dish verboten simply because it’s no longer in fashion – though perhaps it helps that I never lived through the first incarnation of the offering in question. However, if I like it, I want to eat it, and pigs in blankets deserve continued enjoyment, or at least furtive munching after one has declared them passé: after all, it’s sausages in puff pastry! How could that not be enjoyable?

Aside from the meat-averse, I don’t think I know anyone who would turn down these pigs in blankets. They’re cute and retro, they’re bite-size, and they’re absolutely fantastically fun to make and eat. That being said, I felt that it might be a good idea to add a modern twist to this much-maligned hors d’oeuvre. So, I opted for sausages over hot dogs, and then added in even more flavor before baking by lining the pigs’ pastry with mustard-based sauces. Feel free to, as always, swap out for different add-ons or differently flavored sausages – and even if you switch to veggie sausages, I think you can still call them pigs in blankets.

Funnily enough, I don’t think I’ve ever had pigs in blankets at a party, but such is the power of cultural association that it overrode my own recollection of having eaten cold sausages wrapped in pastry when I was a child. I’ll have to figure out where and why I ate them, what kind of sausage was used, and also why on earth I stopped! In the meantime this take on sausages and pastry will do the trick nicely.

Two pigs in blankets

Makes sixteen pieces total – eight bratwurst in blankets, and eight kielbasa in blankets, but you can easily increase the quantity of one or both.

Ingredients

  • One sheet (1/2 pound) puff pastry, thawed (you could make your own, but I used Pepperidge Farm)
  • One egg, beaten

For the bratwurst in blankets

  • Two good-quality bratwurst, prepared according to directions if uncooked
  • About two tablespoons grainy/whole-grain mustard
  • About one tablespoon of snipped fresh chives

For the kielbasa in blankets

  • Two good-quality kielbasa, prepared according to directions if uncooked
  • About two tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • About two tablespoons lingonberry jam (I love Ikea brand)
  • Extra chives, if leftover from bratwurst version (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. Thaw puff pastry according to directions, or up to forty minutes on the countertop. Roll out pastry, stretching its dimensions about two inches on each side. It’s fine if the pastry tears, just gently patch it and continue rolling gently. Divide the pastry in half along the long side, creating two rectangles of pastry.

2. Meanwhile, prepare the sausages according to the package directions (if not pre-cooked). Make sure the sausages are cooked thoroughly, and then cooled a bit, before wrapping in the puff pastry. (I baked mine in the oven while waiting for the puff pastry to thaw for about thirty minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.)

3. On one half of pastry, spread out grainy mustard and top with snipped chives. On the other half of pastry, spread out the Dijon mustard and then lingonberry jam.

4. Beat egg in a small bowl with pastry brush. Apply egg wash to all sides of each sausage, and then match sausage with its correct filling (bratwursts with grainy mustard, kielbasa with lingonberry). Place selected sausage onto dough. Roll sausage in dough, and then slice pastry after the sausage is entirely wrapped so that there’s a seal. Repeat with remaining sausages.

5. Cut each sausage-in-dough into four pieces. If the pastry seal breaks, just repair by pinching dough together again. Place pigs in blankets onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, sealed side down. With pastry brush, brush more egg wash onto each individual pig in blanket.

6. Bake in oven for fifteen minutes, or until pastry is puffed up and golden brown. Let cool for a few minutes, and then enjoy right away.

Note: These pigs in blankets are also pretty good cold, but that might be my nostalgia for the cold sausage-in-pastry thing I vaguely recall eating. Most people will probably enjoy these hot. You can assemble these in advance and store in the refrigerator for a few hours, and then bake right when needed.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Two pigs in blankets

  • Tes says:

    Wow those looks really amazing! Sounds like a great appetizer for the party, too. I will give your pigs in the blankets recipe a try soon :)

  • elentari86 says:

    Interesting. I just found this browsing your ‘British’ category and I have to take issue.

    To me, sausage meat in pastry is a sausage roll. Pigs in blankets are sausages wrapped in bacon.

    • k.m. says:

      Oh interesting! My dad, who’s English, says they called them pigs in blanket (anything sausage wrapped in something else). He also says sausage roll is used too. But maybe it’s because he’s from Cornwall? They have some different terms there apparently.

  • elentari86 says:

    Could well be! Take bread rolls for example. Depending on where you are in the country a bread roll might be called a batch, a cob, or multiple other terms I’ve probably never heard of. Or it might just be called a roll.

    It could also be that it used to mean sausage wrapped in anything else but over time has come to mean wrapped in bacon specifically. Language is a funny thing!

    • k.m. says:

      As a language student (well, former, no longer in school), I find all this really interesting. I just bought a new cookbook and the author offers lots of alternative/regional names for many foods, including vegetables. Once I start cooking from there and writing about it I will be sure to share some of the names he wrote down, many of which are Cornish or otherwise regional names.

      Can’t say I’ve ever heard cob for a bread roll…for me, cobs are horses or what corn comes on!

  • elentari86 says:

    It is fascinating. Another term I forgot to mention is bap.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Two pigs in blankets at md kitchen.

meta

