Cornmeal-blueberry thumbprint cookies

September 4, 2011 § 8 Comments

August seems to have gone by so quickly; I can’t believe I spent most of the month recuperating rather than, well, being bored at work. Now that it’s September I can already feel the air is cooler, and I’m dreaming of sweaters, boots, and cozy baking and cooking.

Of course, I know that next week it’ll most likely be beastly hot, but in the meantime I can pretend that fall is here by taking advantage of the cooler weather to turn on the oven and do some baking. Despite the kitchen getting a bit hot, autumnal delusions gone, it was totally worth it, as the cookies have a deliciously crumbly texture, buttery taste, and faint cornbread-y crunch topped with jammified blueberry preserves.

In all actuality you might have a slight peach glut demanding your attention NOW, and thus no desire to break into the canned preserves. That’s ok though, because if you’ve ever canned, you know of that little amount left over that goes in the fridge since it isn’t safe to can? That’s what you can use to fill these cookies. As the cornmeal cookie is a flavorful if rather neutral base, have fun substituting any fruit you fancy. Though next time I make these I might try dark chocolate…

P.S. For all the US-ians out there, have a great Labor Day!

Cornmeal-blueberry thumbprint cookies

Adapted from my shortbread sugar cookies

Makes about forty cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (100 grams) granulated sugar
  • A pinch of kosher salt
  • Two sticks unsalted butter (one cup or 226 grams), preferably room temperature
  • One cup plus one tablespoon (165 grams) cornmeal
  • One cup (140 grams) all-purpose flour
  • About 1/3 cup blueberry preserves (or preserve of your choice), for filling thumbprint cookies (weight will depend on preserves selected)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Mix together sugar, kosher salt, and butter until smooth. Stir in flour and cornmeal; mix until dough is crumbly yet holds together.

2. Form balls of dough about one to two tablespoons in size , and place on cookie sheets lined with parchment paper (or greased cookie sheets). Press thumb into center of each cookie dough ball, making a small indentation. Fill each indentation with a small dab of blueberry preserves.

3. Bake for fourteen to sixteen minutes, rotating sheets halfway through if baked on separate racks, or until cookies are pale golden brown around the edges.

4. Let cookies cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes, and then transfer to a rack to cool completely. Enjoy!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Cornmeal-blueberry thumbprint cookies

  • They look great, though a little dangerous – so little that one wouldn’t be enough, but I don’t think I’d be able to stop!

    • k.m. says:

      They’re pretty easy to eat, it’s true, despite being quite rich. We had some guests over this afternoon, and I don’t think there are very many cookies left at all!

      I guess invite some cookie fiends over after you finish baking :)

  • It was so cool when we were up there. But we weren’t used to sleeping without AC and there wasn’t a breeze to the room. These cookies look wonderful. I love the inclusion of cornmeal.

    • k.m. says:

      Ah, yes, it’s easy to become used to AC, especially since, I would imagine, Arkansas is pretty hot!

      Cornmeal makes the cookies a bit crunchier and adds a lot of nice flavor, not too sweet. Mine is milled in Maryland too! I bet you have some around for making cornbread that you posted about recently :)

  • Abby says:

    I have a ton of cornmeal. I kept forgetting I had it and buying more for various recipes. This would be a great use for all the extra.

    Your cookies look beautiful!

    • k.m. says:

      Thanks! I only got to eat two, the rest were consumed by the guests we had over this weekend. I guess I’ll be making more soon, so that’ll finish up my current bag.

      Another favorite way to use it up (besides cornbread) is cornmeal pancakes with maple syrup and bacon :)

  • These look great. I’m not much of a baker so have great admiration for people like you who can bake so brilliantly!

    • k.m. says:

      Thanks! I think I probably prefer baking a tiny bit over cooking, but really I just like to make things.

      This is a good recipe to start practice baking, it’s mostly assembly really.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cornmeal-blueberry thumbprint cookies at md kitchen.

meta

